09
Sep
09

acc football starts the season in a hole

When I'm wrong I'm wrong.  Feel free to tell me next time.

When I'm wrong I'm wrong. Feel free to tell me next time.

Once in awhile, and I mean a very, very long while, I’m wrong.  I know, it’s hard to believe I’m ever wrong given my heigthened ability to prognosticate sporting outcomes in field hockey and the like.  I’m here, with my tail between my legs, saying I was wrong about the ACC.  If Week 1 was any indication, the ACC is not in the same class with the SEC, Big 12, and the PAC-10 this year.

Before you say, “Hey man it’s week one, there’s a lot of season left, don’t get so down on the ACC,” let me point you to John Feinstein’s column on the matter.  I agree with Feinstein’s take.  The ACC made moves to supposedly compete with the power football conferences, and those moves still leave the conference short in talent.  The lowlights from Week 1: the conference started 4-6, with three of those wins coming against DI-AA schools, and one of the losses coming against DI-AA schools.  Virginia Tech held their own against Alabama, but Alabama was able to find another gear and defeat them despite the fact that Tech got almost all of the bounces.  Maryland made Cal look like they could beat USC.   Wake Forest lost to Baylor in embarassing fashion at home.

I didn’t want to believe it coming into this season.  I thought the conference finished last year on a strong note, and that would carryover into this season.  It didn’t, and many programs lost key chances to prove their critics wrong this week.  While this conference will likely produce a few Top 25 programs by the end of the year, there is not one program that is considered a legitimate national title contender, and the Oragne Bowl will once again likely be the only BCS bowl the ACC is represented in.  My co-blogger had it right the other day in his response to my post – the only way for the ACC to gain respect is to win some games.  Week 1 was a step in the wrong direction.

7 Responses to “acc football starts the season in a hole”


  1. September 9, 2009 at 10:09 am

    Kudos to you for manning up and admitting that you were wrong…so dreadfully, dreadfully wrong. Just kidding. No one could have known, and you weren’t the only one who said that.

  2. September 9, 2009 at 10:13 am

    If you look at the “possibly related posts” at the bottom, there are other blogs listed that were wrong, just like me. We should form a club of optimists who regularly get their hopes and dreams erased.

  3. September 9, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Also interesting to note: the CAA is 2-1 against the ACC so far this year. Guess what conference JMU is in?

  4. September 9, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Oh man, I’m taking my JMU alum wife and six of her classmates to the game this Saturday. If we lose I’ll never hear the end of it. This game has suddenly turned out to be the most important game of the season, at least for me.

  5. September 10, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    I too am taking several JMU-affiliated friends & family (including my JMU-alum brother-in-law) to the game. Maryland better win, or I will hear about it constantly for the rest of my life. Or until we can get Gary to schedule them in basketball and beat them there.

  6. September 10, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Too funny. There is a lot on the line here. More on that topic tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

Photobucket
badge/terps.win.jpg

Contact the authors

Tips? Questions? Comments? Tirades? E-mail us here.
Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

