25
Mar
09

I may have to watch an entire women’s basketball game

There are some things I’ve had on my Bucket List for some time now.   Read Infinite Jest cover to cover.   The running of the bulls in Pamplona.  Drink an entire one of those Heineken mini kegs without using a glass.  Watch an entire women’s basketball game on television.   I know these are big dreams.  And I hope I haven’t alienated you.  I’m just a regular guy, albeit with some formidably big dreams. But I put my pants on one leg at a time just like everyone else.  Trust me on that.

And now, I’m joyful to say, an opportunity is nigh.  Truth be told, perhaps this entire basketball season — men’s and women’s — has been leading up to this one Herculean effort on my part.  I’m not saying it will be easy.  But what it will be, is maybe potentially entertaining, is what it will be. So suck on that.  Because I’ve gotta catch these Lady Terps for the full 40 minutes.  I caught the final minutes of their second-round dismantling of Utah last night in the final home game for Kristi Tolliver and Marissa Coleman, and they were totally dominant.   (It was gratifying to see the home crowd acknowledge this, too.)   Maryland is now on a collision course with Connecticut for alllll the marbles.

Mike Wise was right in his column today, which said that Tolliver and Coleman were now THE all-time stars of Maryland women’s hoops. Hard to argue with that. In fact, I’ll go him one better and claim, without hesitation, that they are the Juan Dixon and Lonny Baxter of the Lady Terps. In fact, I’ll go him two better and say that, if they beat the Huskies in the final to win their second title in four years, they might challenge UConn, Tennessee, and Lisa Leslie for a spot on that tiny shelf of the national consciousness reserved for women’s basketball.

But you know what? I’m not going to stop there, either. Because I’m crazy. I’m not doing Mike just one better. I’m not going to stop there. And I’m not stopping at two better either. I’m going to do him THREE better, right here and now, right in this blog post, and commit to watching an entire women’s basketball game on television. What’s the next game? March 28 at 2 p.m. against Vanderbilt. Damn it all! I think that’s my afternoon to polish my shoes. But I could try to shuffle it around. That’s my solemn promise. These ladies are a can’t miss. Go Terps.

5 Responses to “I may have to watch an entire women’s basketball game”


  1. 1 terphed
    March 25, 2009 at 9:06 am

    I’ll be hiking while that game is being played. ¡Aye de mi! You’ll just have to recap it for the rest of us. What you’re doing is truly inspiring.

  2. March 25, 2009 at 10:40 am

    Step #1 for you should be learning how to spell “T-O-L-I-V-E-R”. There are not 2 “l”s in Toliver. Toliver. Toliver. Toliver.

  3. March 25, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    Nah, step 1 should still be TV. Then I’ll worry about getting Christy Toliver’s name right.


Leave a Reply

Photobucket
badge/terps.win.jpg

Contact the authors

Tips? Questions? Comments? Tirades? E-mail us here.
Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

