06
Mar
09

i feel bubbly in the stomach and tingly in the extremities

With less than two minutes left in Tuesday’s game against Wake Forest, the Terps were behind in a two possession endgame scenario.  At just the wrong moment, Eric Hayes got that dredded mezmerized “what do I do with this round thing” look on his face.  Trapped near the sideline, he turned around and threw the ball out of bounds.  There were no Terps even close to where he threw it.  I leaped off my couch and yelled, “NO!”  It was as if someone had just run over my hypothetical dog.

I don’t know about you, but this time of year I can hardly watch the Terps.  At some point before it’s too late I’d like to get strapped to an EKG machine while watching a Terps game in February to determine if it’s actually a life threatening event for me.  I’m not entirely kidding here.  I get shortness of breath.  I can feel my heart racing.  This can’t be good.

The entire season comes down to the game tomorrow against UVA.  In the grand scheme of life, this game should not mean that much to me, but it does.  It’s not rational, especially because the outcome of this game is entirely out of my control, and it is, after all, just a college basketball game.  But I am, like many of you, emotionally attached to this silly team, more so than any team since the championship year.  These guys are the ultimate underdogs.  It’s been written many times, but they literally are like a Hollywood script playing out in real life.  Undersized.  Criticized.  Forgotten.  They still have a chance.

It is at times fruitless to search for meaning in sports, but there is meaning here.  If the Terps win tomorrow they keep hope alive for the little guy.  Win a couple more games and they’ve done something that was seemingly impossible a month ago.  These Terps are fighters, and they represent an ideal that we all like to believe is true, namely that people can overcome their shortcomings through hard work and dedication.

Everyone loves an underdog.  I just hope this one doesn’t get run over.

4 Responses to “i feel bubbly in the stomach and tingly in the extremities”


  1. 1 rullmania
    March 7, 2009 at 12:23 am

    I feel you, boss. I am nervous, too, for the game. I am originally from Charlottesville and I can’t stand UVA. I was at the road Virginia game last year and had to leave early it hurt so bad. I went to the football game this year as well with my Terps sweatshirt on and had seats that were unfortunately in the section right next to the UVA student section. As much as I wanted to leave, I didn’t want to give those d-bags the pleasure of lambasting me as I tucked my tail between my legs and sulked up the stairs.

    I decided that I bring bad juju to the arena when I watch the Terps in Charlottesville. I will be playing golf tomorrow and staying as far away from John Paul Jones as possible.

    GO TERPS!

  2. March 7, 2009 at 8:33 am

    Sometimes it’s just too hard to watch. I don’t believe in jinxes, but if you want to stay away from the arena I support that move. You can never be too cautious in these situations.

  3. July 22, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    Built by using a patented design blueprint, these glasses
    are held together by invisible hinges. A  Watch makers offer countless choices in men’s and women’s watches, that the timepiece you imagine can be
    on your wrist in a very heartbeat. These amazing instruments are a genuine investment, and I’m sure you want it to last.

  4. August 5, 2014 at 5:46 pm

    Wonderful items from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely great.
    I actually like what you have bought here, really like what you
    are saying and the way in which you are saying it.
    You make it enjoyable and you continue to take care of
    to stay it smart. I cant wait to read much more from you.
    That is really a wonderful website.


Leave a Reply

Photobucket
badge/terps.win.jpg

Contact the authors

Tips? Questions? Comments? Tirades? E-mail us here.
Add to Technorati Favorites
March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

