05
Sep
08

To Every Preview A Season: A Middle Tennessee State analysis from former Byrds guitarist Roger McGuinn

Something was really happening in 1967.  That hierarchical structure that we all associate with traditional American power was being challenged, I think, in a way that it had never been before. I remember there was this notion that we would overtake it through sheer energy, without guns or harsh words or legal briefs.  Were we turning on, sure, we were turning on.  But what I think the Gertrude Housemakers and Joseph Six-Packs, or whatever you want to call them, what they never understood was that it was about more than just getting stoned.  We were getting high, too.   Let that sink in.

You had paid me to talk about something.  I remember that now.  And I want to be sure I receive that money.  Oh, right, the Maryland Terrapins against Middle Tennessee State.  Well, the Middle Tennessee State campus is located in the great city of Murfreesboro, if memory serves.  I remember one time David Crosby and I sat in on a little session there once with Bob Dylan and some of our colleagues.  Al Kooper was on the keys, of course, as always.  And I was sitting there strumming my Rickenbacker 12-string, just a little melody, laaa daaa dee da dee da dummm...just like that.  And all of a sudden, Dylan–or Bobbin Delicious as was my own personal nickname for him–he just starts riffing!  He just starts riffing right there, talking about “lay lady” this and “subterranean” that.  It all just came, sort of, tumbling out of him.  It was amazing, him with his lyrics and me with my Rickenbacker 12-string and all.  I remember looking over at Al Kooper, and Al just shook his head.

The Middle Tennessee State guys are called the Blue Raiders.  The Terps already beat the Blue Hens, and a lot of times they play the Blue Devils.  Hehehe, so, heh, you better get your raincoats out, if you follow me.  Oh man…woo! Ahh, that’s terrific.

Back to the story. Later that night, we all went out for dinner.  Being in the south, in Tennessee, I ordered the ham biscuits and the sweet tea.  But Bobbin Delicious?  Oh, no, not Bobbin.  Bobbin, as only I called him, put his menu down on the counter top of that little greasy spoon and orders a cheeseburger.  I mean, can you believe this guy?  A cheeseburger?  Who is this guy?  And I remember I looked over at Al Kooper and Al just shook his head. 

What was I doing here again? Oh right.  Middle Tennessee State sucks and this is an absolute cupcake.  I don’t care if the Terps look a little down right now. I don’t care that it’s on the road.  What, the hostile confines of Murfreesboro?  I’ve seen meaner people at an Amish green grocer. Those guys lost to Troy last week, 31-17.  Come on.   Even I know this is a creampuff. 

Prediction:  Maryland 35, Middle Tennessee State 0

9 Responses to “To Every Preview A Season: A Middle Tennessee State analysis from former Byrds guitarist Roger McGuinn”


  1. 1 terphed
    September 5, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Roger McGuinn knows a marshmellow chocolate overcoat of a creampuff when he sees one. At least this team is D-I. I hope we see some of Josh Portis’s freakiness this weekend.

  2. 2 Jobu
    September 5, 2008 at 6:21 pm

    Great post, man. You guys should really kick into the more positive grooves and lay off that heavy sarcasm. Sunshine daydreams about the Terps man. We’re in Terrapin Station! Man.

    P.S. I hated it when Guinney called me “Bobbin”.

    P.P.S. Donovan sucks.

  3. 3 aaronhawley
    September 5, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    You know what this post needed?

    More sitar.

  4. 4 Jessie Schlosberg
    September 5, 2008 at 7:33 pm

    Bobbin Delicious? where do you come up with this shit! Hilarious! Go Terps… huzzah!

  5. 5 rdclutch
    September 7, 2008 at 2:05 am

    If Middle Tenn State is a creampuff, then Maryland is a choking dog.

    Go Terps Go! Bring on more blog entries about the women’s soccer team (and more pics please)

  6. 6 Stan
    September 11, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    So, Middle Tennessee sucks huh? Need to stick with your Rickenbacker.

  7. September 11, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Roger McGuin told me to tell you touche.

  8. September 11, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    People keep referencing our loss to Troy like it was a bad loss. Troy is a good football team. Too bad these know it all types don’t know that.

  9. 9 Go Terps
    September 11, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    Yeah…know it alls are a pain, huh?


Leave a Reply

Photobucket
badge/terps.win.jpg

Contact the authors

Tips? Questions? Comments? Tirades? E-mail us here.
Add to Technorati Favorites
September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

